Be In Love With Your Life

jack

When I was a young girl, I was full of positive energy. I was an optimist to a fault and found beauty in everything. I saw the best in everyone and believed it could always be brought to the forefront with the right amount of encouragement and care. I believed anything was possible, that any dream I had was going to happen just because I believed in it.

I was hopelessly naive.

Ten or so years later found me living anything other than all the grand dreams I had envisioned for myself. Almost every plan I had made for my future had backfired and all those people I had believed in had only ended up being negative, life-sucking parasites.

I was insanely bitter. And very cynical.

Long story short, it was a bit of a journey finding that beauty again. A lot of ups and downs, some isolation, a whole lot of throwing myself into my work, a decent amount of crying…and then…

One giant success.

I had slaved over a particular project, obsessed over it even, for one whole year of my life. It was something almost insurmountable, and the odds of me ending up with the desired results were slim to none. But it was the first thing since the bottom had dropped out of my life that I actually BELIEVED in. And because I believed in it so much, I fell in love with it, every aspect of it, even the struggle. And because I loved it so much, I accomplished it, against all odds.

It made me realize that was what was missing in my life. I had become a ball of negative energy instead of a force of positivity, and I was only surviving my life instead of living it. I didn’t love anything anymore. And I don’t mean my family or friends. I mean everything that had once brought me joy, I had swept under the rug in order to plod along like a zombie. What kind of existence is that?

We need to be in love with our lives, all aspects of it, even the struggles. Struggles bring growth, they bring change, and they bring success. They make us stronger. They make us wiser. Do they suck? Sure, no one likes to struggle, but at the end of it, love the fact that you made it to the other side. Love what it taught you. Love that you have become a better person because of it.

It’s easy to love the good things in life, but don’t take them for granted either. Cherish every piece of beauty you see. This world makes it easy to get discouraged and to lose heart, but light and joy is all around us if we learn to look for it in even the smallest thing.

Tiny victories can bring even greater victories, and taking small steps toward one of your greatest dreams can ultimately get you to the top of that daunting mountain.

Life is a gift. Love the journey.

-Brieanna Robertson

This entry was posted in Motivational Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

