Look where we will be May 16th-18th

Look who will be with us at XCON, May 16th-18th in Myrtle Beach, SC:

     Sam Jones from Flash Gordon

Richard Hatch

 

 

Richard Hatch “Captain Apollo” from the original Battlestar Galactica

 

 

 

  Axel in the third season of The Walking Dead

Just to name a few.

CONV FLOOR PLAN  2014 Model (1)And our booth is right across from the stage.

For more info about this convention, Click here: http://www.xconworld.info/index.html

I don’t know about you, but I have fond memories of the first two shows. The 1980 version of Flash Gordon was, well, flashy. The outfits were bright, sparkly and very colorful. It was quite the campy, tongue-in-cheek kind of movie, but I loved it anyway. The part I particularly enjoyed was where the citizens of Mongo were presenting their gifts to Ming the Merciless, and Flash turned it into a football game in an attempt to get away. Having big, burley King Vultan act all innocent while bopping the soldiers on their heads, too funny. There is a new movie in the works, but since I enjoyed this one so much, I really don’t anticipate seeing it.

As to Battlestar Galactica, the 1978 series was the best (yes, I am that old). I saw the pilot show and was in awe; I so wanted to be a fighter pilot and fly in a Viper. I was already a big fan of the shows Space 1999 and Star Trek and this reminded me of them. It was fascinating and futuristic, just like they were. If there was a way for me to go into space then, I would have gone in a second. Cylons…pah! I laugh in the face of danger!

In that series, Starbuck was a womanizing scoundrel. I adored him, in a teenager kind of way, almost as much as I liked Captain Apollo. They were perfect: one responsible and the other a problem child. When the new version came out in 2004, I was aghast to learn they had made Starbuck into a woman. Nothing against that, mind you. It was just hard to accept such a drastic switch after watching the original. The ’78 series may have only lasted a year, but it was a year that will last a lifetime for me. Reruns help.

I never got into The Walking Dead. When I was much younger, I watched a movie about zombies where a woman was hiding in a shed or a wooden building of some kind. The zombies reached through the broken areas and grabbed her head, shoving her eye into a large splinter of wood attached to the building. I don’t remember the name or anything else about the movie, only that it really grossed me out. Scared the bejebes out of me, too. Never been able to enjoy watching those kind of movies since. Give me a good sci-fi flick with an alien popping out of the chest any day, but no zombies. Just can’t do it.

So, needless to say, I am THRILLED I will get to see two of my most favorite heart throbs from my teen/early years at the same time, at the same place. I hope you will be able to join us. We will have all kinds of goodies to raffle, including books. Oh, and did I mention the 1960’s Batmobile, ECTO-1 (from Ghostbusters) and the Mystery Machine (from Scooby Doo) will be there?

Way cool.

-Janet

This entry was posted in Wednesday’s Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

