Featured Author: Donna Michaels

Author Donna Michaels is in the spotlight!

spy

We interviewed Donna so readers can find out a little more about her and her wonderful works!

WP: When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer and why?

D: I first realized I wanted to be a writer after I read one too many romance novels with a weak heroine. As a reader, you try to identify with the heroine and there was no way I would’ve reacted the way the heroines were reacting, so I thought, okay, maybe it’s time to put pen to paper and give it a shot.

WP: If you could live in any time period, which would you choose and why?

D: Tough one. Believe me, with modern medicine the way it is, I’m very grateful to live in the here and now. But, if I had to choose a different one and traveling with the Doctor in the Tardis was out of the question, then I’d choose the 1940s. Something about WWII in the south pacific has always grabbed me. No idea why.

WP: What makes a story “good” to you? What are pet peeves that make it not so good?

D: A ‘good’ story to me starts with a solid plot and then travels to strong characters, and humor, too, of course. My pet peeves in a ‘not so good’ story would be when the hero or heroine consistently does something out of character. Sure, they have to grow and can change in that respect, but you need to keep them on a tight leash.

WP: What is the craziest thing that’s ever happened to you?

D: The craziest thing that’s ever happened to me isn’t actually crazy, it was pretty great. I met one of my hero inspirations. Adrian Paul. Even had my picture taken with him. I keep it posted on my website to prove to myself it really happened. ☺

WP: Have you ever been on a really amazing vacation? Where?

D: Yes, I have been on a really amazing vacation. I went to Oahu and Maui on my honeymoon (many moons ago) and got to visit Pearl Harbor. See? It’s that WWII south pacific thing again.

WP: What animal do you identify with the most?

D: Oh, that’s an easy one. The animal I identify with is a cat. Surprised? lol Probably not if you’ve read my novel The Spy Who Fanged Me. Kit was a treat to write. Shh…she’s actually my favorite heroine out of every story I’ve written so far. I miss her.

WP: Is there any genre you refuse to write? Why?

D: There is a genre I won’t write, and you may have guessed from my very first answer. Historical. If you stay true to some of those time periods, then your heroine would have to suffer with the stigma of being ‘lesser’ than the man, and I could never keep it accurate, which is not fair to the reader. I give historical authors so much credit. They are geniuses. Seriously, they have mounds of research to do to keep everything correct, right down to the décor in a room. My hat is off to them. The only way I would tackle one, was if it were a time travel. Oh wait, that’s right, I sort of did that already.

WP: What are some pros and cons of being a writer?

D: Pros of being a writer is getting to share the characters and their stories that are in my head. My goal is always to entertain. Give the reader an escape from reality for just a little bit, and hopefully, put a smile on their face. The cons are definitely time management. It’s nearly impossible not to miss out on family things at some point, and that really does stink. The marketing part of this life takes up way too much time. I wish I could snap my fingers and the promo/marketing would magically be completed.

WP: What are you passionate about?

D: I’m passionate about writing a good, entertaining story with a tortured/alpha hero and a strong, yet vulnerable heroine that neither one can do without. And of course, humor has to be sprinkled in.

WP: Describe the best date you’ve ever been on. (Or the worst!)

D: All my time with my husband of 28 years has been great, so I’m going to tell you about my ‘worst’ date with someone before my husband. He took me to the movies, which was good, I love movies, but afterward, instead of driving to my house, he drives to a cemetery with the intentions of ‘parking’. But before I he could even lean close, a cop pulls up next us, shines a flashlight in the window, asks for our names and what we’re doing. Yeah. That was fun. Needless to say, there wasn’t a second date.

WP: What job would you have if you weren’t a writer?

D: If I wasn’t a writer I probably would’ve gotten into creating special effects in movies and television.

WP: What is the worst job you’ve ever had?

D: I never had a horrible job, but my least favorite was being a customer service rep. It wasn’t my cup of tea to try to get customers to buy an extra service from an Internet provider when they’d call in for help.

WP: What are some things on your bucket list?

D: My bucket list includes riding in a Corsair or equivalent WWII plane; researching my ancestry; and visiting Bora Bora to name a few.

WP: What is your creative process like?

D: My creative process is sporadic. My plot ideas come from all over the universe (a.k.a. my imagination), and sometimes from everyday activities. Once I have an idea or a character in my head, then I sit down and Snowflake that idea or character using Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method. This helps me flesh out the kinks and really brings the characters to life in my head. Then I simply write what they tell me to write. Here’s the link to the Snowflake Method:  http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/articles/snowflake-method/

WP: If time and money were no issue, what would you do?

D: See answers to #13. ☺

WP: What is your favorite movie of all time? Book?

D: Oh wow…favorite movie and book of all time are almost unanswerable for me, but I shall try. For non-romance, movie and book would be the LOTR trilogy; for romance, my favorite movie would be Two Weeks Notice, and for book it’s a toss-up between a few of Jill Shalvis’ novels—Lucky In Love/Animal Magnetism/Rumor Has It

WP: Describe a perfect day for you.

D: My perfect day is simple. I wake up, and after everyone in the house goes to work, school, and/or play, I sit down and write without interruption. Then I wake up. lol My household is too busy for that scenario. I usually have to write around all the craziness.

Thank you, Donna!

Find Donna and her wonderful books here: http://www.donnamichaelsauthor.com/

This entry was posted in Author Spotlight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

