New release: Kissing Atticus Primble by Stephanie Hoina

Fiction-Romance/Young Adult
Whimsical Publications, LLC
Print: $6.95; E-book: $2.99
kissingatticusprimble_front

Like any other girl her age, Kathleen was ready for the excitement of a first love. What she wasn’t ready for was Atticus. He had been her best friend for as long as she could remember, and the subtle change in their relationship as they started high school caught her off guard.

Turns out, the switch from best friend to boyfriend was so natural, and being with Atticus was so wonderful, Kathleen didn’t even think about the challenges dating someone like Atticus presented.

When Bobby O’Hara, the most popular boy in school, sets his sights on Kathleen, she is torn between her love and loyalty to Atticus and the excitement, popularity, and ease of being Bobby’s girlfriend. She needs to make a decision. The question is…will it be the right one?

 


We are happy to celebrate with Stephanie Hoina on the release of her book, Kissing Atticus Primble. She was kind enough to take time out of her busy schedule to answer a few of our questions and to allow us into her world for a little bit.


WP: Why do you choose the genres you do?

Stephanie: I like to read the genres I write about. I tend to be a
romantic at heart and love writing YA because I loved being a
16-year old girl! She’s still inside me and I find it easy to tap into her. Granted, much has
changed since I was that age…but so much has stayed the same. And it’s a fun genre to
write in.

WP: When did you first know you wanted to be a writer?

Stephanie: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I know that sounds cliché but
it’s true. I wrote my first real story when I was about 8 or 9. It was a fantasy story that I
illustrated with markers and wrote in a very small “pleather” bound, dark green notebook. I can still see it very clearly. Unfortunately I no longer have it. I wouldn’t say I wanted to be a writer back then, I just liked writing. So I guess maybe I first considered the possibility of being a writer in my twenties.

WP: Who is your favorite character you have created?

Stephanie: It would have to be Penelope, a pink, polka-dotted balloon that goes on a
“great balloon adventure.” Probably because she was one of my very first characters and
has been with me for a very long time.

WP: What is your favorite part about being a writer?

Stephanie: I love that reading and writing can take you anywhere you want to go. Writing
Kissing Atticus Primble took me back to my adolescence, a time I remember fondly. I simply enjoy the act of writing, which is especially gratifying when you have a story inside you jumping at the chance to come out.

WP: What’s your latest news and do you have anything releasing soon?

Stephanie: My latest (and best) news is that my first book, Kissing Atticus Primble, is being released by Whimsical! And I’ve already started on the sequel because I’m just as
interested as anyone to see what happens next!

WP: What is your favorite place you have ever traveled?

Stephanie: I’ve mostly travelled within the US. I love LA and Boston, but living in New York City, I’d have to say there’s no place like home! Manhattan is such a wonderfully diverse place, not simply in terms of the people, but also the architecture, neighborhoods, restaurants, things to do…it’s a magical place.

WP: Describe a perfect day for you.

Stephanie: Wow, this is tough because in typical Gemini fashion I can go in a few different
directions. I’d have to say any day spent with my husband and son is pretty perfect. A close
second might be curling up outside with a good book.

WP: If you could offer any piece of advice, what would it be?

Stephanie: I’m not one to give advice. I think people just need to do what works for them. In terms of writing, I don’t have the best practices. I write what I feel, when I feel it. I think
writing should be organic. It shouldn’t be forced. Because the bottom line is you should be
writing for the love of it. A love of words and of stories, and because you have something to
share that makes you happy. Hmmmm, I guess I do have advice after all!

WP: What would you consider one of your greatest accomplishments?

Stephanie: That’s an easy one. My greatest accomplishment is being a mom. The
responsibility of shaping another human being’s life is beyond measure. My son is not only
my greatest accomplishment but also my greatest joy.

WP: What do you hope readers will take away from your stories?

Stephanie: Honestly, I just hope my stories provide a little enjoyment. I love reading. I love escaping into a story and becoming invested in the characters. And I hope readers will feel the same way when they read something I’ve written. I try to keep things light and easy because sometimes we need to not think so much. While there is plenty to think about in Kissing Atticus Primble, I tried to write it in such a way that the reader isn’t bogged down in the details of it all, but can still appreciate the importance of the relevant issues. At least that is my hope.

WP: Tell us where we can find you around the web.

Stephanie: As with my writing, I tend to keep things simple. I have a website, but you will
find it is fairly basic. We are bombarded with information from so many directions I don’t
feel the need to add to that. So my website,
www.stephaniehoina.com, is really just a way
for people to catch a glimpse of who I am and what I’ve done. I also have an author page
on
Facebook and a Twitter page. Honestly, I haven’t spent enough time with them either.
(Now, my personal Facebook page is a different story….I probably spend a little too much
time there!)

We want to thank everyone for stopping by and reading about Stephanie Hoina. To learn
more about her and her book, Kissing Atticus Primble, visit her author page and her book
page on http://www.whimsicalpublications.com, or click on one of her sites listed above
. Her book is available through these retailers:

                   

 

Have a great August. Fall is just around the corner. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Book releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

