Mousey chats with Melissa Hosack about her new release, Sunshine and Grimm

It is exciting to have best selling author Melissa Hosack here with us today to chat about her new release, Sunshine and Grimm.

sunshineandgrimm_front

mousey with rasberry iced tea     mousey chat with rasberry tea

     It’s a pleasure to be here, Mousey. You made the tea just right. Thank you.

    No, thank you, Melissa. Like I said in my opening statement, I’m excited to have you here for our chat, and to hear how things are with you and your writing.

     This should be fun!

     Here we go! Melissa, what made you first want to be a writer? 

      I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was a little girl. I wrote my first short story in the second grade. Then in fifth grade I won a writing contest to get to participate in a workshop with children’s author, Coleen O’Shaughnessy McKenna. It was a fantastic experience that fanned the flame of my writing passion.

     That sounds like it would be exciting for a child. As an adult, what kinds of things do you write, and why?

    I like to think of myself as a very eclectic author. I’ve written in multiple genres – paranormal romance, horror, adventure, and young adult. I don’t try to box myself in. When an idea comes to me, I start writing it down.

I think my favorite is paranormal though. It’s the one I always return to. I write that because I enjoy the scary element. My birthday is the day before Halloween, and no doubt that had a factor in me being in love with the season. Ghosts. Ghouls. Vampires and Werewolves. I love them all!

    Halloween can be a fun time of year for sure! Besides Halloween, what inspires you? What helps your creative process?

    Anything and everything can inspire me. The weirdest, most random things give me story ideas. Creativity can strike anywhere! My husband is also a big inspiration. The idea for my novel 12, which is my best selling piece through Whimsical, was actually his suggestion! He begged me to write a story about the Mayan predicted doomsday. He even did a ton of research for me before I got started.

     That was a good book. Love reading it. Is there any genre you want to try, but haven’t yet?

    I wouldn’t mind trying a historical piece. I love all the old-fashioned dresses and the entire atmosphere that goes with it. I think it would be quite a challenge for me, as it is way out of my comfort zone. Perhaps a historical paranormal. That would be fun!

     I bet it would be. And interesting. I’m sure it could require travel for research, too. What is your favorite place you have ever traveled?

    That is a tough question! I love traveling. One of my favorite places to go would definitely be the Caribbean. It is just so amazingly beautiful. And WARM! I love to snorkel and the fish there are unbelievable.

     Being a mouse, I’m not much for snorkeling. I might be a tasty snack instead. If you were an animal, which would you choose and why?

        The Muppets character! Animal! That counts, right? He looks like he has a lot of fun. No reservations in that guy. No way!

 

     That’s hilarious! I can see it happening. Could be embarrassing too. What is something really embarrassing that has happened to you?

    I don’t get embarrassed often. I’m one of those people who don’t really care what others think and I can laugh at my own stupid mistakes. Probably my most recent awkward moment was on a cruise. I chose to wear a pretty sundress to the emergency drills. It was out on the deck where it was really windy, and they had me lined up in front of the section. My dress kept blowing up the entire time. I was struggling to hold it down.

     That can definitely add some character to the drill process. Speaking of characters, if you could bring any of your characters to life, who would you choose and why?

    I would like to meet one of my characters from my unreleased novel, Zombies vs Vampires. It will be out next year some time. There are just so many memorable characters in that story for me. It was one of the first I ever wrote and holds a special place in my heart. I would maybe pick Damian. He is such a selfless, charming guy. He’s a true romantic. I think he would be fun to hang around for a day.

     Ah, romance. What a wonderful accomplishment. What would you consider one of your greatest accomplishments?

    My greatest accomplishment, hands down, is my family. My son is just such a sweet, wonderful little boy. I wouldn’t change a thing about him. He definitely makes every day an adventure.

     Children are our future, Melissa. I’m a devoted bachelor so I don’t have any. Maybe one day.  What do you hope readers will take away from your stories?

    Pure entertainment! I hope readers take away even just a smidgen of the fun I had writing them. I love my characters and seeing them come alive in print is amazing. I hope the readers laugh a bit too! Even though my stories are paranormal, I always try to throw in a bit of humor.

     That you do, Melissa. That you do. If you could offer any piece of advice to our readers, what would it be?

    Never give up! Whatever your passion is, don’t stop trying for it. Rejections happen. They build spirit and give a person experience. Dust yourself off, practice to make yourself better, and try again.

    Well said! What’s your latest news and do you have anything releasing soon?

    On October 25th, which it today, my newest release is out. It’s titled Sunshine and Grimm. It is one of those humorous paranormal stories I was speaking of. I laughed a lot when writing this one. The characters are just so zany and mismatched. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

     I absolutely enjoyed reading it. I guess opposites do attract. Melissa, it’s been wonderful. Where can we find you on the web?

    These are my places where people can find me:

https://sites.google.com/site/melissahosack/

https://twitter.com/MelissaHosack

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Melissa-Hosack-Author-of-Paranormal-Romance/119951088073763

http://melissahosack.wordpress.com/

    Melissa, I loved hav…

vampire mousey 1       vampire doggie


vampire mousey 2     vampire doggie drat


                          vampire doggie 3


   Gotta love those three. 

mousey closing with rasberry tea


To learn more about The One Inside the Looking Glass by Melissa Hosack, Click on
the link provided below:

sunshineandgrimm_front

http://www.whimsicalpublications.com/melissa_hosack/Sunshine_and_Grimm.html

Happy Halloween and be safe!

WP - logo 300 dpi

http://www.whimsicalpublications.com

This entry was posted in Book releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

