More about Melissa Saari

theredsatinshoes_taglineTNR

http://www.whimsicalpublications.com/Melissa_Saari/The_Red_Satin_Shoes.html

More about author Melissa Saari

WP Where is the most memorable place you have ever traveled?

MS The place that left the most memories for me is Portland, Oregon. It’s an exquisite city and I will never forget the time I spent there.

WP Is there a place you want to visit?

MS I would love to visit Finland someday. It’s the home of my ancestors, and a lot of Saari’s still live in Finland. The country also inspired a lot of my fantasy writing, and I would love to see the place that inspired the ancient gods and goddesses.

WP What would you consider one of your greatest accomplishments?

MS Getting my first book published, “The Red Satin Shoes.” Oh, and I finished my Bachelor’s program in Screenwriting with a Latin Honor of Cum Laude. It was a privilege and an accomplishment to learn my craft. I’m working on my Master’s Degree now, and I’m projected to graduate in 2017.

WP Who is your favorite character you have created?

MS My favorite character would have to be Cato, the half-man, half-lion that becomes the hero in “The Curse of the Lion People.” He was stripped of everything, like his entire tribe, banished to the Forbidden Forest, but he didn’t let that stop him. He struggles to lift this curse, and his reward is his restored humanity. I have many more books about him.

WP Is there any genre you want to try, but haven’t yet?

MS Science Fiction is a genre that I haven’t explored yet. I have a book called “Eve” about space and rockets, but I haven’t finished it yet. I have a class coming up at Southern New Hampshire University about writing Science Fiction, so I’m looking forward to the future. Maybe “Eve” will be finished someday.

WP What is your creative process like? Do you prefer quiet or a noisy atmosphere when writing?

MS My life is chaotic most of the time, so I can work under both circumstances, but I prefer a quiet place to write. But sometimes life is pure chaos, so I’ve had to learn how to draw inspiration from that chaos. Even in the chaos, there’s still a message and a meaning. Make it the darkest part of the story. Make it work for you.

WP What do you want readers to take away from your stories?

MS I try to invoke something inside the reader, whether it’s fear or happiness, or tears – to get some emotion out of the readers, that’s entertainment to me. It makes me very happy to know that the reader was entertained, that they got something out of my story and it made them happy. Alfred Hitchcock had the same idea. When he was outside the theater, listening to the reactions of the audience as the knife comes down in “Psycho,” that’s how I feel. He was enjoying each scream; you could just see the joy on his face. Sure, it was just an actor playing Alfred Hitchcock, but even the actor understood how Hitchcock must have felt. “Hitchcock” was released in 2012, but I remember the scene like it was yesterday.

WP If you could offer any piece of advice to the novice writer, what would it be?

MS Patience and perseverance are both key principles. You have a gift, an ability to tell stories, and even though writers struggle, we don’t give up. I’ve struggled from writer’s block in the past, but I always find inspiration to continue my craft. I always find that movie screen in my mind, playing a different movie every time, and I organize it inside of my mind to make it a story. Writing’s almost like breathing to me, and anyone who has that passion should persevere and not give up on their writing.

WP Do you have anything releasing soon?

MS Yes, “The Curse of the Lion People” is coming out soon, and not too long after that, “The Blue Satin Diary,” another horror book, will also be published by Whimsical Publications.

WP Where can we find you on the web?

MS I have a few Twitter handles, @moonrose46 being my main handle for now, but I also have a Facebook account. When the other books start getting published, I’ll be using my fantasy page, @yafantasybook, to promote “The Curse of the Lion People.”


http://www.whimsicalpublications.com/Melissa_Saari/Melissa_Saari.html


 

WP - logo 300 dpi

http://www.whimsicalpublications.com

This entry was posted in Author Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

